★ Thought for the Day – What I RE-LEARNED in 2023 ★

Happy New Year!  I pray that the last days have been good and that you have been sticking to the New Year’s resolutions!  If you have been following this page, you know that I believe in “commitments” rather than “resolutions” because I typically have failed at every one of them that I have made, (if you want to read about this, click here).  I will share that my 2023 commitment to work out and live a healthy lifestyle has been maintained!  The gym that my wife and I joined one year ago has been frequented weekly throughout last year, and have continued going to, (in fact we will be there tonight for Cycle Class).  We also started playing Pickleball 6 months ago which I am absolutely obsessed with!  It’s a great workout and more importantly is an awesome time with my wife!!  In the last post ★ Thought for the Day – Life is Ball Game ★ I shared that my Word for the New Year for 2023 was “PERSEVERE” which was so on point for what I went through last year.  While our family went through a ton of change last year and 2023 marked the most insane year of my career at work, committing to a healthy lifestyle has resulted in my wife and I connecting in a deeper way through fitness.

I will say though there was something else that I learned, or should I say RE-LEARNED in 2023, we ALL need to persevere because NEWS FLASH: We are in a Battle for our Souls and the Souls of Our Family, and we must be prepared with the Armor of God.  I KNOW THIS, BELIEVE THIS BUT COMPLETELY WAS DECEIVED BY THE ENEMY.  In an older post called ★ “Back to the Basics” – Pursuit #2 – What Are You Feeding On? ★, we discussed all about the attacks of Satan, spiritual warfare and the importance of putting on the Armor of God, so I will not duplicate what we covered there, but I wanted to share Ephesians 6:10-18 from the Message Translation that gives a fresh viewpoint of the Spiritual Warfare that IS COMING AGAINST US and how to have victory: 

“And that about wraps it up. God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.

Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.” 

We are going to go through tribulation but take heart, God WILL USE it for our good, to learn something that we can in turn help others with.  We are, who we are, because of the trials and hardships we go through.  Through all the stress, pressure, and phenomenal change in my personal and professional life, I lost sight of the fundamental truth of my walk with Jesus — I must die to myself and stop focusing on the circumstances, but rather my Creator and ultimately what I am supposed to learn in the midst of the storm.  Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 tells us that there is a season and purpose for everything, and the key is to “cling tightly to the Lord as you have done until now” (Joshua 23:8 NLT).  I realized that I held onto things I should have let go because of fear and the “what ifs” scenarios I allowed to run rampant while simultaneously blocking the relief and support that I would have received from my Heavenly Father if I had not drifted away from Him.  This life is temporary — WE MUST KEEP ETERNITY on the forefront of everything we do as 2 Timothy 3:1-5, 4:3-8 reminds us.  Over the past two years I have lost sight of that.

In 1 Corinthians 9:24-27 (NLT), the Apostle give this encouragement:

“Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.”

I need to get back to this place, where people and the things of God are my priority and not my own selfish desires.  In the next (3) posts I am going to be sharing some truths about what God downloaded to me during worship one Sunday morning back in October 2023 that I have been trying to embody.  The series will be called “The Call on Our Life.”  Given that we just flipped the page on the calendar to the new year, it only seems appropriate to hit the reset button and focus up on what God desires from us.

  DIG DEEPER

★ Thought for the Day – Life is Ball Game ★

★ Thought for the Day – Unstoppable Determination for God’s Holiness ★

★ “Back to the Basics” – Pursuit #2 – What Are You Feeding On? ★

If you are enjoying these posts, you can hit the “Follow” button to receive blogs delivered to your inbox so you never miss a post!

To Follow Daily Dependence Blog

 

One thought on “★ Thought for the Day – What I RE-LEARNED in 2023 ★

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.