★ Thought for the Day – Experience is the Best Teacher ★

On numerous occasions, I remember my mother saying “Experience is the Best Teacher.”  I did a little digging and found that the great Roman leader Julius Caesar recorded the earliest known version of this proverb, “Experience is the teacher of all things,” (c. 52 B.C.).  But my favorite rendition of this expression is from the J.R.R. Tolkien’s masterpiece, “The Fellowship of the Ring,” where he penned these words that I have quoted over and over…

“The burned hand teaches best. After that, advice about fire goes to the heart.”
“The burned hand teaches best. After that, advice about fire goes to the heart.”

I am a firm believer that “the burned hand teaches best,” experience; especially the mistakes are the best teachers.  I have learned far more from my failures then I ever did from my successes.  I think that is because, when embarrassment, disappointments or pain happens in our lives, the brain registers, and remembers that emotion much clearer than our greatest victory.  Mistakes and failures are going to happen, and sometimes we may have to take a couple steps back, and regroup in order to move forward again, but the key is, don’t miss this…that if we learn from our “burned hand,” we will end up becoming far wiser and stronger had the failure never happened!

The question is, what will you do when failure happens?

 

 

If you are enjoying these posts, you can hit the “Follow” button to receive blogs delivered to your inbox so you never miss a post!

To Follow Daily Dependence Blog

★ Want to see more? ★

8 thoughts on “★ Thought for the Day – Experience is the Best Teacher ★

  1. Useful info. Fortunate me I found your website accidentally, and I am surprised why this accident didn’t took place earlier! I bookmarked it.

    Like

    • I am glad you found our blog and if you are interested in keeping up with what we are posting, it is really easy. You can get new posts delivered straight to your inbox. All you need to do is go to DailyDependence.WordPress.com ON YOUR COMPUTER, not phone, and click “Follow” button on the bottom right corner. Enter your Email Address and you will never miss a post!

      God bless you!! I hope you will come back often.

      Like

  2. I think that what you typed made a great deal of sense. However, what about this? what if you were to create an awesome post title? I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t good, however suppose you added something that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean ★ Thought for the
    Day – Experience is the Best Teacher ★ | Daily Dependence is a little vanilla. You could peek at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write post headlines to grab people to open the links. You might add a video or a related pic or two to grab people interested about
    what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might bring your website a little bit more interesting.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.